Uncategorized

The best way to begin a conversation

I was at a loose end for a couple of hours yesterday with no reading matter so I popped into a bookshop in hunt of something to read. I happened to pick up John Steinbeck’s Travels with Charley, a book about his trip across America in a camper van to in effect conduct an ethnography of Americans. There was a quote that jumped straight out as me that I found exemplified when Twitter has been the most use to me, when i’ve needed advice or pointing in the right direction:

The techniques of opening conversation are universal. I knew long ago and rediscovered that the best way to attract attention, help, and conversation is to be lost. (p.8)

Leave a Reply

